Celebrity News

Takeoff made eerie statement about death just one week before he was killed

Late Migos rapper Takeoff discussed wanting his “flowers” while he was still “here” just one week before dying in a shooting.

While appearing on the “Drink Champs” podcast alongside Quavo to promote their new projects as rap duo Unc & Phew, Takeoff opened up about wanting recognition for his talent while he was still alive.

“One thing I really, really love about the project is how you [are] shining. Of course you were shining before, but I felt like you were dancing on this one,” co-host N.O.R.E. told Takeoff.

“It was your time to prove. Is that something you had on your mind when you [were] going to do that?”

Takeoff responded, “For sure. I’m chill, I’m-laid back, but it’s time to pop it. I want to get into my flow. Time to give me my flowers. I don’t want them when I ain’t here.”

rapper takeoff talking into a microphone
Late Migos rapper Takeoff appeared on “Drink Champs” just over a week ago and discussed wanting recognition while he was still “here.” DrinkChamps Podcast
1 of 3
Takeoff smoking.
“Time to give me my flowers. I don’t want them when I ain’t here.”yrntakeoff/Instagram
Takeoff performing.
“Time to give me my flowers. I don’t want them when I ain’t here.”WireImage
Advertisement

At the conclusion of the podcast, the rapper accepted a bouquet of flowers.

Takeoff, born Kirshnik Khari Ball, was killed early Tuesday morning at a bowling alley in Houston after a fight broke out over a dice game. He was 28.

1 of 3
Quavo leaning over Takeoff's body.
Footage showed fellow Migos rapper Quavo attempting to help his nephew.TMZ
Quavo leaning over Takeoff's body.
Footage showed fellow Migos rapper Quavo attempting to help his nephew.TMZ
Advertisement

Police confirmed that Takeoff and Quavo were present at the lanes but would not identify the decedent until the family had been informed.

Houston Police Department Lt. Christina Salazar told NBC affiliate KPRC 2 that 40 to 50 people were at 810 Billiards & Bowling Houston when the shooting took place and revealed that two other people who had been injured were taken to nearby hospitals.

Footage obtained by TMZ appeared to show Quavo, whose real name is Quavious Keyate Marshall, attempting to help move his nephew’s lifeless body as he yelled for help.

Quavo, 31, and Takeoff started Migos in 2008 with Offset, who was Quavo’s cousin.