Celebrity News

Matthew Perry apologizes for dissing Keanu Reeves in new memoir

Matthew Perry has apologized for questioning in his new memoir why Keanu Reeves “walks among us.”

“I’m actually a big fan of Keanu. I just chose a random name, my mistake. I apologize,” the “Friends” alum said in a statement to People Wednesday.

“I should have used my own name instead.”

Perry suggests in “Friends, Lovers and the Big Terrible Thing” that he harbors bitter feelings toward the “John Wick” star — but fails to provide a reason.

“Why is it that the original thinkers like River Phoenix and Heath Ledger die, but Keanu Reeves still walks among us?” he writes.

The troubled actor, 53, made his first movie, “A Night in the Life of Jimmy Reardon,” in 1988 with Reeves’ best friend, Phoenix. They became close while filming, which made Phoenix’s untimely death from a drug overdose at age 23 in 1993 all the more heartbreaking.

Matthew Perry walking in LA.
Matthew Perry has issued an apology for his diss against Keanu Reeves in his forthcoming memoir. GC Images
1 of 5
Keanu Reeves walking in LA.
“I’m actually a big fan of Keanu. I just chose a random name,” Perry said.GC Images
Keanu Reeves standing next to a motorcycle.
“I’m actually a big fan of Keanu. I just chose a random name,” Perry said.SPOT-Stoianov / BACKGRID
Advertisement
Keanu Reeves on stage during a presentation.
“I’m actually a big fan of Keanu. I just chose a random name,” Perry said.Getty Images
Advertisement

“River was a beautiful man inside and out and too beautiful for this world, it turned out,” Perry writes in his book, which hits stores Nov. 1. “It always seems to be the really talented guys who go down.”

The “Whole Nine Yards” star cites Reeves, 58, once more while discussing the 1997 death of his pal Chris Farley, with whom he became friendly while filming the 1988 comedy “Almost Heroes.”

Matthew Perry on a red carpet.
“Why is it that the original thinkers like River Phoenix and Heath Ledger die, but Keanu Reeves still walks among us?” Perry writes in his memoir. WireImage

“I punched a hole through Jennifer Aniston’s dressing room wall when I found out,” he writes. “Keanu Reeves walks among us.”

Perry’s prose against the “Speed” star was enough to get the internet talking, with celebrities such as Lynda Carter taking to Twitter to defend Reeves.

“Come on… Keanu Reeves is like one of those frozen cakes. Nobody doesn’t like him!” the “Wonder Woman” star, 71, tweeted.

Elsewhere in the memoir, Perry details his near-fatal health scare and the trials and tribulations of his personal life, which once included Cameron Diaz allegedly punching him in the face.

“Cameron got almost instantly stoned — it was clear that she wasn’t interested in me at all,” he writes.