Celebrity News

How Dane Cook, fiancée Kelsi Taylor ‘prepared’ for backlash over 26-year age gap

Dane Cook and his fiancée, Kelsi Taylor, “prepared” themselves for hate over their 26-year age gap.

“Going into the relationship, we knew that people would have an opinion in the public eye,” the comedian, 50, told People on Thursday.

“We were very early making jokes,” he continued. “I would say something like, ‘I’d love to have a family,’ and she would say, ‘Oh, I’d love to have a family when I’m young,’ and I’d say, ‘Well, I’d like that as well because I’d like to hold my children on my death bed.'”

Dane Cook and Kelsi Taylor
Dane Cook explained how he and Kelsi Taylor “prepared” to be trolled for their age difference.

By “being able to poke fun at it and have some jokes at [their] expense,” the couple felt ready for backlash when Cook proposed in July.

“People were going to put us as a target,” the actor explained. “So if we make the joke first and we’re laughing at it, you can’t really hurt us with that.”

Dane Cook
The comedian often “poke[s] fun at” the 26 years between them. Getty Images

The couple, who have been dating for five years, revealed their engagement news in August.

“She said yes!” the “Employee of the Month” star captioned an Instagram video at the time of Taylor, 24, showing off her ring.

1 of 11
Dane Cook and Kelsi Taylor
The couple got engaged in July.danecook/Instagram
Dane Cook and Kelsi Taylor
The couple got engaged in July.danecook/Instagram
Advertisement
Dane Cook and Kelsi Taylor
The couple got engaged in July.danecook/Instagram
Dane Cook and Kelsi Taylor
The couple got engaged in July.The couple got engaged in July.danecook/Instagram
Dane Cook and Kelsi Taylor
The couple got engaged in July.danecook/Instagram
Advertisement
Dane Cook and Kelsi Taylor
The couple got engaged in July.danecook/Instagram
Dane Cook and Kelsi Taylor
The couple got engaged in July.danecook/Instagram
Dane Cook and Kelsi Taylor
The couple got engaged in July.GC Images
Advertisement

“Making my fiancée @itskelsitaylor laugh is my favorite sound,” Cook added in a separate social media upload. “I love her with all my heart.

“We’ve made beautiful memories over the last five years. There’s so much to celebrate as we look forward together. #grateful.”

In a post of her own, the Pilates instructor wrote that “fiancé has a nice ring to it.”

She gushed, “I couldn’t have asked for a more perfect moment. I love this man and love spending my life with him. I can’t wait for what’s to come.”