Celebrity News

James Corden says it’s ‘beneath’ him to care about NYC restaurant drama: ‘I did nothing wrong’

James Corden is feeling very “zen” about his Balthazar restaurant row.

The “Late Late Show” host, 44, broke his silence after being called a “tiny cretin of a man” and “the most abusive customer” by the NYC restaurant’s owner, Keith McNally.

After accusing the Brit of boorish behavior, McNally banned him from the Manhattan eatery. But just hours later, Corden called him to “apologize profusely” and the ban was lifted.

“I haven’t done anything wrong, on any level,” Corden told the New York Times. “So why would I ever cancel this [interview]? I was there. I get it.”

“I feel so zen about the whole thing. Because I think it’s so silly. I just think it’s beneath all of us. It’s beneath you. It’s certainly beneath your publication,” he added.

The father of three teased he might address the controversy on his talk show, noting that he hasn’t “really read” anything McNally wrote on social media.

James Corden has broken his silence after he was banned from a NY restaurant earlier this week.
James Corden has broken his silence after he was banned from a NY restaurant earlier this week. Getty Images

“I think I’m probably going to have to talk about it on Monday’s show,” Corden told the publication. “My feeling, often, is, never explain, never complain. But I’ll probably have to talk about it.”

Keith McNally smiling .
McNally called Corden a ” tiny cretin of a man” in the lengthy Instagram post. Instagram/keithmcnallynyc

McNally’s scathing Instagram post on Monday saw him call the entertainer “the most abusive customer” in the restaurant’s 25-year history.

McNally accused Corden, who has admitted to having anger issues in the past, of treating his servers poorly by demanding free items and yelling at them.

“I don’t often 86 a customer, so today I 86’d Corden. It did not make me laugh,” he wrote in part.

In a follow-up Instagram post on Tuesday, McNally said he can’t help but “feel really sorry” for Corden.

“Feeling strange about the James Corden thing,” McNally penned. “On the one hand, he was definitely abusive to my staff, on the other hand, I feel really sorry for him right now.”

“Like most cowards, I want it both ways. F–k it, I’m going to get drunk,” he added.