Celebrity News

Jennifer Lawrence: I lost ‘control’ amid ‘Hunger Games’ and Oscar win

Jennifer Lawrence confessed that she “lost a sense of control” early on in her career due to her meteoric rise to fame.

“Between ‘The Hunger Games’ coming out and winning the Oscar, I became such a commodity that I felt like every decision was a big, big group decision,” the actress, 32, said during a “Screen Talk” at the London Film Festival on Saturday, per Variety.

In 2012, Lawrence made her debut in the “Hunger Games” franchise, which saw a record-breaking box office release.

Jennifer Lawrence
Jennifer Lawrence confessed that she “lost a sense of control” earlier in her career amid her meteoric rise to fame in her early twenties. AFP via Getty Images

The same year, the movie star appeared opposite Bradley Cooper in David O. Russell’s film “Silver Linings Playbook” — which later earned her her first Oscar win in 2013.

“When I reflect now, I can’t think of those following years, [because there was] just a loss of control,” Lawrence added at the festival.

She then remarked on winning an Academy Award at age 22, “I keep thinking ‘when will it hit me?’ I don’t think it ever will.”

1 of 3
Jennifer Lawrence as Katniss Everdeen
Lawrence starred as Katniss Everdeen in the smash-hit “Hunger Games” franchise.©Lions Gate/Courtesy Everett Co
Jennifer Lawrence as Katniss Everdeen
Lawrence starred as Katniss Everdeen in the smash-hit “Hunger Games” franchise.©Lions Gate/Courtesy Everett Co
Advertisement

Lawrence also described how she just recently began to reclaim her sense of identity.

“It feels personal for me [for] the first time in a long time,” the “X Men” actress explained, per Variety.

Lawrence’s personal life has gone through several big changes in recent years.

Jennifer Lawrence with her Oscar.
Lawrence won her first Oscar at age 22 for “Silver Linings Playbook,” just two years after scoring her first nomination. Disney General Entertainment Con

The “Mother!” star married NYC gallerist Cooke Maroney in 2019 after a high-profile relationship with director Darren Aronofsky.

The couple have since welcomed a baby boy, who was born in February.

Lawrence told Vogue for her October 2022 cover story how being a mom might affect her roles, saying, “I have had a pretty consistent theme in all my movies since I was 18. I’m curious if, now that I’m older and I have a baby, I’ll finally break out of that.”