Celebrity News

Matt Smith says Queen Elizabeth II watched ‘The Crown’ on a projector

“The Crown” had a fan in Queen Elizabeth ll.

Matt Smith, who portrayed Prince Philip in his younger years in the hit Netflix series, revealed in a new interview that Her Royal Majesty watched the show prior to her death.

“I met the now-King Charles [III], I told him that he had fabulous shoes … and then I met Harry once at the Polo,” the actor, 39, recalled during his Thursday appearance on the “Today” show.

“He walked up to me and he went, ‘Grand-dad,’ because he watched the show,” he added. “I heard the Queen had watched it, yeah, and she used to watch it on a projector on a Sunday night, apparently.”

Although the British royal — who died at the age of 96 last week — allegedly tuned into the series, her late husband wasn’t as big of a fan.

“I know that Philip definitely didn’t [watch],” Smith said of the Duke of Edinburgh, who died in April 2021 ahead of his 100th birthday.

“A friend of mine sat next to him at [a] dinner once and he asked him. Actually, I think Philip asked my friend if he made ‘The Crown,’” he shared.

“My friend couldn’t resist. By the end of the meal he was like, ‘Philip, I have to ask, have you watched “The Crown”?’ And [Philip] apparently turned around to him [and said], ‘Don’t be ridiculous.’”

“The Crown” star Matt Smith, who portrayed Prince Philip in his younger years in the hit series, revealed Queen Elizabeth II watched the Netflix show prior to her death. Today

Smith previously revealed that he also met Prince William at one point, who offered him a few acting tips.

“I met [William] very briefly in a lineup at the polo,” he said during an appearance on “The Graham Norton Show” in 2016. “The lady who was doing the lineup said, ‘This is Matt and he’s about to play Prince Philip.’ And then she said, ‘Have you got any advice for him?’”

The “House of the Dragon” star continued, “And then I thought, ‘God, I’m going to die.’ All [William] said was, ‘Legend. He’s an absolute legend.’”

1 of 3
Matt Smith
Smith portrayed the Queen’s late husband.AP
Queen Elizabeth II and Price Philip
Smith portrayed the Queen’s late husband.Getty Images
Advertisement

Meanwhile, Prince Harry has admitted to watching several episodes.

“They don’t pretend to be news. It’s fictional,” the Duke of Sussex, 37, said during his appearance on “The Late Late Show With James Corden” in February.

“But it’s loosely based on the truth. Of course, it’s not strictly accurate. … It gives you a rough idea of what that lifestyle, what the pressures of putting duty and service above family and everything else, what can come from that.”

The Queen died last week at the age of 96. POOL/AFP via Getty Images

Harry continued, “I’m way more comfortable with ‘The Crown’ than I am seeing the stories written about my family or my wife [Meghan Markle] or myself because it’s the difference between [‘The Crown’] is obviously fiction, take it how you will, but this is being reported on as fact because you’re supposedly news. I have a real issue with that.”

“The Crown” paused production on the show’s sixth season shortly after the Queen died, out of respect for the longest-reigning monarch in British history.

Smith said the monarch had watched the show. Today

“’The Crown’ is a love letter to her and I’ve nothing to add for now, just silence and respect,” creator Peter Morgan told Deadline in a statement last week. “I expect we will stop filming out of respect too.”

The upcoming season will feature “Harry Potter” alum Imelda Staunton as the late Queen, taking over for Claire Foy and Olivia Colman, who portrayed her in previous seasons.