Celebrity News

‘Stranger Things’ star Jamie Campbell Bower is 7-and-a-half years sober

Jamie Campbell Bower on a red carpet.
“Stranger Things” star Jamie Campbell Bower candidly tweeted about his mental health and sobriety.WireImage

“Stranger Things��� star Jamie Campbell Bower celebrated seven and a half years of sobriety in candid tweets about his mental health.

“12 and a half years ago I was in active addiction,” the 33-year-old began Wednesday. “Hurting myself and those around me who I loved the most. It got so bad that eventually I ended up in a hospital for mental health.”

Bower then told his 900,000-plus Twitter followers, “I am now 7 1/2 years clean and sober.”

The actor admitted he has “made many mistakes” throughout his life, but he noted in a second tweet that “each day is a chance to start again” and “grow” from his past.

“For anyone who wakes up thinking ‘oh god not again’ I promise you there’s a way,” he added.

“I’m so grateful to be where I am, I’m so grateful to be sober. I’m so grateful to be. Remember, we are all works in progress.” 

Jamie Campbell Bower on a red carpet.
“12 and a half years ago I was in active addiction,” Bower wrote. FilmMagic

Fans responded to Bower’s series of tweets by expressing how proud they were of the “Twilight” star.

“Thank you for sharing your story and for being a person others look up to. So proud,” one follower tweeted.

“So so proud of you Jamie! It takes so much strength to pull through every day. I’ve been there. We love you and we’ll be by your side through it all <3,” another wrote.

“So proud and happy that you are still here and that you can be an example to all of us. Thank you for being an inspiration that life does get better if we fight for it,” a third fan echoed.

“Thank you so much for talking about this,” one more tweeted.

Jamie Campbell Bower in "Stranger Things."
Besides acting, Bower was the lead singer of the band Counterfeit from 2015 to 2020. Tina Rowden

Other followers applauded Bower for sharing his struggles with the public.

“So important for men in particular to open up about their struggles with mental health. It shouldn’t be a taboo subject. Me & so many of my family members have suffered mental health issues ,so I can totally relate,” one wrote.

“The stigma is still there, but let’s keep talking & sharing. Well done to you for overcoming those dark times & using your experience to help others. Love & respect,” another tweeted.

Bower, who was also the lead singer of the band Counterfeit from 2015 to 2020, talked about quitting drugs in a 2019 interview with i-D. He shared that while in recovery, the first thing he was taught was to be “super honest” about what he was feeling — whether it be “guilt, shame, fear,” etc.

“And it’s the hardest thing to do, is just express exactly what it is that you’re feeling,” he added.