Celebrity News

‘DWTS’ pros Val Chmerkovskiy and Jenna Johnson expecting first child

Val Chmerkovskiy hugging Jenna Johnson.
“Dancing With the Stars” pros Val Chmerkovskiy and Jenna Johnson are expecting a baby.Getty Images for Sandals Resorts

“Dancing With the Stars” pros Val Chmerkovskiy and Jenna Johnson are expecting their first child.

“It wasn’t an easy journey for us to get pregnant,” Johnson, who is due in January 2023, told People Friday.

“We got home [from a trip to Cabo], and about two weeks later, I was like, ‘Wait a minute, my boobs are feeling very big and very sore. I haven’t started my period yet,'” she recalled. “So I peed on a stick, and immediately it just turned positive. The shock and just disbelief was insane.”

Johnson, 28, told Chmerkovskiy, 36, the news by handing him a Nike shoe box with baby Jordan sneakers and two pregnancy tests inside.

“I had been shaking at home waiting for him to come home. So he nonchalantly walked in, and he, ironically enough, had a bag of Nikes,” she shared. “I was like, ‘Did you go shopping today?’ He was like, ‘Yeah, I got myself some new sneakers.’ I’m like, ‘No way. I got some too today.’

“He came over and chucked off the lid of the box and started rummaging through it. He looked at the shoes and was like, ‘How small are these sneakers?’ Then it hit him, and his face … it was priceless.”

Jenna Johnson sitting on Val Chmerkovskiy's lap outdoors.
This will be the couple’s first child. jennajohnson/Instagram

Johnson told the magazine that she is nearing the end of her first trimester, which she described as “a scary time” because “so many things” can go wrong.

“But I’ve just made it a priority for myself to really make a shift and to prioritize the baby and what was happening and all of these new changes,” she said, adding that she is giving her body “the necessary rest.”

Jenna Johnson and Val Chmerkovskiy dancing together on "Dancing With the Stars."
Johnson and Chmerkovskiy’s baby is due in January 2023. ABC via Getty Images

Johnson joked that Chmerkovskiy is “obsessed” with “everything” about her changing body, from “the boobs” to “the butt” to “the belly.”

“If he is anything like he is as a husband, he’s going to be the best dad in the world,” she raved of the two-time mirrorball champ, who is already an uncle to his brother Maksim Chmerkovskiy’s 5-year-old son, Shai. “He is so selfless and loving.”

Johnson and Val started dating in 2015 and got engaged in June 2018. They married in Rancho Palo Verdes, Calif., in April 2019.