Royal Family

Prince William reveals why he joined magazine sellers on London streets

Just weeks after he was spotted helping the homeless on the streets of London, Prince William is opening up about what made him go incognito.

The Duke of Cambridge kept a low profile while selling copies of British magazine The Big Issue, known for supporting the homeless and those struggling financially.

The father of three, 40, was spotted in a red vest and a hat to match as he sold magazines to confused passersby on the street.

Calling the experience “eye-opening,” William vowed to continue playing his part in helping those who need it most.

In light of the duke’s 40th birthday, the royal has written exclusively for the magazine about his day out on the streets of London.

Britain’s Prince William meets a vendor of The Big Issue newspaper. via REUTERS

“I wanted to experience the other side and see what it was like to be a Big Issue vendor. My time was truly eye-opening,” he wrote.

William’s time selling issues of the magazines to confused passersby saw him spend an hour with Dave Martin, a Big Issue vendor.

The duke sat down with Martin, who interviewed him for the latest edition. The two are also the cover stars of the magazine’s special edition.

Martin told the Duke of Cambridge about his job selling the magazine, saying, “It got me off the street. Gave me respect. I was begging at the time. Another vendor said I could be doing something a lot better and took me along to the Big Issue office.”

The Duke of Cambridge took to the streets of London to sell magazines. via REUTERS

William went on to remember how the late Princess Diana famously took him to a homeless shelter when he was 11, which clearly instilled values the royal has carried ever since.

“People who are homeless can’t rebuild their life without a number of things. And one of those things is respect and self-respect,” he wrote.

Vitalijus Zuikauskas poses for a picture with Britain’s Prince William, who was spotted selling The Big Issue newspaper in London on June 9, 2022. VITALIJUS AND LAURA ZUIKAUSKAS

“I have always believed in using my platform to help tell those stories and to bring attention and action to those who are struggling. I plan to do that now I’m turning 40, even more than I have in the past.”

William said he is committed to “continue doing what I can to shine a spotlight on this solvable issue.”