Celebrity News
exclusive

Dwyane Wade and Gabrielle Union spend ‘equal’ time in front of mirrors

Dwyane Wade likes checking himself out.

The retired NBA superstar confessed to Page Six exclusively that he and his wife, Gabrielle Union, are “equal” opportunity mirror hogs.

“That’s why we’ve got our own mirrors in our own bathrooms,” he told us Wednesday night at the Time 100 Gala at Jazz at Lincoln Center in New York City.

And Wade knows how lucky he is to be married to the “Bring It On” star.

“And she told me so,” he joked. “But she’s incredible. I’m learning so much from her. I think we’re both learning from each other. We’re both growing. … Trials and tribulations, of course, that’s life.”

The basketball player, 40, called Union, 49, “an unbelievable” and “very supportive” partner, adding, “I think that’s where we both try to be. And so, she’s pretty cool.”

Dwyane Wade and Gabrielle Union are an “equal” household when it comes to mirrors. dwyanewade/Instagram

Now that he is no longer racing up and down the basketball court for a living, Wade is a little laxer on his diet — but within reason.

“I definitely have days where I indulge and I enjoy food,” he explained. “But also, I like putting on clothes. I like coming on the red carpet and talking to individuals like you. So I got to make sure I look good, you know, stay fit, feel good.”

The father of four also spoke candidly about his 15-year-old daughter, Zaya, who came out as transgender in 2020, confessing that he constantly worries about her safety.

Wade revealed his worries for the safety of his transgender daughter, Zaya. Getty Images for Gucci

“You wake up in the mornings and turn on social media and you hear that a trans kid has been jumped, you know, just because they’re being, just because they’re existing,” he said. “I live in a world where my daughter is a very public figure as well because of, you know, because of the life we live.

“And everyone is not in a celebratory stage. … A lot of people have dislikes and they don’t know how to express them within conversation [and] sometimes express them in a physical way. And so, as a parent, you want to do everything you can to protect your child.

Wade wore Fear of God at the Time 100 Gala. WireImage

“And so, I’m fearful, of course, that I can’t protect her. And now we’ve got another fear because now our kids [are] not even safe in school. You know, when our kids leave the house, I have black kids. I’m fearful, and so there’s so much fear when our kids leave the house.”

Other celebs at the star-studded gala included Mary J. Blige, Andrew Garfield, Taika Waititi, Miranda Lambert, Zendaya and Ariana DeBose.