Celebrity News

Johnny Depp: I have ‘my life back’ after verdict decided in Amber Heard case

Johnny Depp is “at peace” and feels he has his “life back” after winning his defamation case against ex-wife Amber Heard.

“Six years ago, my life, the life of my children, the lives of those closest to me, and also, the lives of the people who for many, many years have supported and believed in me, were forever changed. All in the blink of an eye,” the “Pirates of the Caribbean” star, 58, said in a statement obtained by Page Six on Wednesday.

“False, very serious and criminal allegations were levied at me via the media, which triggered an endless barrage of hateful content, although no charges were ever brought against me,” he continued. “It had already traveled around the world twice within a nanosecond and it had a seismic impact on my life and my career.

“And six years later, the jury gave me my life back. I am truly humbled.”

Depp went on to explain, “My decision to pursue this case, knowing very well the height of the legal hurdles that I would be facing and the inevitable, worldwide spectacle into my life, was only made after considerable thought.”

Johnny Depp is “at peace” and feels he has his “life back” after winning his defamation case against ex-wife Amber Heard. Getty

The “Edward Scissorhands” star said his “goal” all along “was to reveal the truth, regardless of the outcome,” adding that “speaking the truth” was something he owed his children and supporters.

“I feel at peace knowing I have finally accomplished that.”

After thanking his fans for the “outpouring of love,” “colossal support” and “kindness from around the world,” he noted, “I also hope that the position will now return to innocent until proven guilty, both within the courts and in the media.”

“The best is yet to come and a new chapter has finally begun,” he concluded his statement. “Veritas numquam perit. Truth never perishes.”

“I am truly humbled,” he said in his statement. POOL/AFP via Getty Images

The seven-person jury came to a unanimous verdict on Wednesday in Fairfax, Va., after nearly 13 hours of deliberations over the course of three days.

They decided that Heard, 36, defamed Depp in her 2018 op-ed for The Washington Post in which she described herself as a victim of domestic violence. Depp was awarded $10 million in compensatory damages and $5 million in punitive damages.

Heard – who was present in the courtroom for the verdict hearing – had a minor victory herself. The jury awarded her $2 million for compensatory damages but $0 in punitive damages.

“The disappointment I feel today is beyond words. I’m heartbroken that the mountain of evidence still was not enough to stand up to the disproportionate power, influence and sway of my ex-husband,” the “Aquaman” actress said in a statement on Wednesday.

“I’m even more disappointed with what this verdict means for other women. It sets back the clock to a time when a woman who spoke up and spoke out could be publicly shamed and humiliated. It sets back the idea that violence against women is to be taken seriously.”

Heard and Depp were married from 2015 to 2017. WireImage

She added, “I believe Johnny’s attorneys succeeded in getting the jury to overlook the key issue of Freedom of Speech and ignore evidence that was so conclusive that we won in the UK. I’m sad I lost this case. But I am sadder still that I seem to have lost a right I thought I had as an American – to speak freely and openly.”

Depp initially sued Heard for $50 million, claiming her essay tarnished his reputation and career.

Heard fired back with a $100 million countersuit, arguing that her career was destroyed after Depp’s attorney publicly claimed she had fabricated the abuse allegations.