Style
exclusive

How Teyana Taylor and Iman Shumpert are spending the holidays

Teyana Taylor might be famous for her sexy spins on streetwear, but come December, you’ll find her sporting something slightly less cool: ugly Christmas sweaters.

The 30-year-old performer, who covers the new issue of LuisaViaRoma’s LVR Magazine, said that swaddling her whole family in festive knits has become one of her favorite holiday traditions.

And after wrapping up her final tour as a musician, Taylor’s looking forward to spending time at home this season with her husband, pro basketball player Iman Shumpert, and their two daughters, 1-year-old Rue Rose and 5-year-old Iman “Junie” Tayla.

As anyone who follows the “We Got Love Teyana & Iman” stars on social media knows, they go big for the holidays, and Taylor revealed that “Dancing With the Stars” contestant Shumpert, 31, is an expert at picking out great gifts.

Taylor, Shumpert and their kids rocked holiday onesies around the tree in 2020. Instagram

“My husband gets me the things he knows I need and want,” she said, adding that this year, she’d love to unwrap a new video camera for her upcoming directing projects. “I’m over material things, but I’m always down for camera equipment.”

But, the dancer and producer continued, “I have everything already … I have someone I love, I have my kids and success, friends and family. There’s nothing more I could possibly want.”

Taylor poses in one of her signature “tomboy meets girly-girl” looks for LVR Magazine. LVR Magazine

And while the holidays may be a time for resting, relaxing and reflecting, don’t expect the multi-hyphenate star to take things too easy this season, because she’s got big plans for 2022.

“My ultimate goal for the next few years is just keep maximizing everything I’m already doing [while] always remaining humble and hungry. I’m always humble and always on my hustle,” Taylor said.

“I’ve always been big into not half-assing and making sure I’m giving 110 percent on everything. Motherhood just brings that out — times-10. You go hard. You have a real purpose. You’re living for these pure, innocent little people that inspire you and push you to work harder and believe in yourself more than ever.”

Taylor models an oversized denim jacket with Balenciaga briefs. LVR Magazine