Celebrity News

Olivia Newton-John is ‘doing well’ amid stage 4 breast cancer battle

Olivia Newton-John has remained optimistic in her fight against stage 4 breast cancer by not dwelling on it.

“I’m winning over it well and that’s how I see it,” Newton-John, 73, told Hoda Kotb on Wednesday’s episode of the “Today” show. “I don’t think about it a lot, to be honest. Denial is a really good thing and I’m getting stronger and better all the time! I’m doing well!”

The “Grease” alum added that she’s “feeling pretty good” and managing her pain with medical marijuana.

“I have my days, I have my pains, but the cannabis that my husband [John Easterling] grows for me has been such a huge part of my healing, and so I’m a really lucky person,” she said.

She also bonded with Kotb, who battled her own cancer diagnosis 14 years ago.

“We’re sisters. Anyone that has gone on this journey with cancer, it’s unknown destinations and surprises and turns,” Newton-John told the talk show host.

Hoda Kotb and Olivia Newton-John on the "Today" show.
The actress and Hoda Kotb can relate, having both been diagnosed with cancer. Twitter

The “Physical” singer told Kotb she didn’t know she previously had cancer and asked how she was doing through teary eyes, to which Kotb said, “Yes, I’m doing good.”

Kotb added, “By the way, I’m just going to pause for a second. Another wonderful thing about you is what you just did there. Thank you. Thank you for asking.”

Newton-John was diagnosed with cancer for the third time in September 2018. The Aussie star was first diagnosed in 1992 and again in May 2017.

She caused a stir in January when she revealed that she had no plans to get the COVID-19 vaccine amid her cancer struggle.