Celebrity News

Chrissy Teigen marks first anniversary of son’s death with hospital photo

John Legend comforts Chrissy Teigen in her hospital bed after the death of their son Jack.
Chrissy Teigen marked one year since the death of her and John Legend’s son Jack.Chrissy Teigen Instagram

Chrissy Teigen mourned the loss of her son Jack by sharing a heartbreaking, never-before-seen photo from the hospital one year after his death.

The snap shows Teigen in tears while tucked into her hospital bed as husband John Legend comforts her, placing his hand delicately on her leg as they grieve their loss together.

“and to the son we almost had. a year ago you gave me the greatest pain I could ever imagine to show me I could survive anything, even if I didn’t want to,” the Sports Illustrated model, 35, captioned her Instagram post Tuesday.

She continued, “i didn’t get to take care of you but you came and went to get me to love myself and take care of myself because our bodies are precious and life is a miracle.”

Teigen expressed how things haven’t gotten any less painful as time has gone on.

“they told me it would get easier but yeah, that hasn’t started yet. mom and dad love you forever,” she said.

Friends and fans of the couple commented on the post to show their support as she and Legend, 42, mourned their child.

“This photo has me in full tears. I can’t imagine this pain. U guys are so strong ❤️❤️❤️❤️,” Bella Thorne wrote in the comments section.

“Im so sorry 🙏🏼 I love you. Sending love and prayers,” a fan added.

Chrissy Teigen on stage in an orange dress at Global Citizen VAX LIVE: The Concert To Reunite The World.
The model is mom to daughter Luna, 5, and son Miles, 3. Getty Images for Global Citizen

Teigen announced that she had suffered a pregnancy loss in October 2020.

“We are shocked and in the kind of deep pain you only hear about, the kind of pain we’ve never felt before. We were never able to stop the bleeding and give our baby the fluids he needed, despite bags and bags of blood transfusions. It just wasn’t enough,” she wrote at the time.

She added, “Jack worked so hard to be a part of our little family, and he will be, forever. To our Jack – I’m so sorry that the first few moments of your life were met with so many complications, that we couldn’t give you the home you needed to survive. We will always love you.”

The pregnancy loss came after Teigen experienced complications that led to her being hospitalized and needing blood transfusions. She had also been placed on bed rest.

Teigen, who since has gotten sober and entered therapy following her pregnancy loss, later penned an essay about losing her child, writing in part, “I am so full of regret that I didn’t look at his face when he was born. I was so scared of seeing him in my nightmares that I forgot about seeing him in my dreams. I hurt every day from that remorse.”

She also got a tattoo to commemorate Jack last November.

Teigen and Legend are parents to daughter Luna, 5, and son Miles, 3. They tied the knot in 2013.