Celebrity News

Jeannie Mai is pregnant, expecting first child with husband Jeezy

Jeannie Mai is expecting a little bundle of joy.

“The Real” co-host announced on Monday she’s pregnant with her and husband Jeezy’s first child together, despite previously saying she didn’t want children.

“It feels surreal because this is the same home that I said so many defiant things. You know, I was like, I know exactly what I want, I know exactly what kind of woman I want to be, and I always said, I’d never be a mom,” Mai shared on the talk show.

“And there’s so many reasons now that are coming to fruition as to why I would have said that then, but I do know that you never say never, and that love can really change you.”

Mai, 42, credited the talk show with helping her “grow and evolve” to a place that she “never imagined seeing” herself. She said she told Jeezy she couldn’t wait to “come home and tell the girls that have always accepted me at every stage of my life.”

Jeannie Mai revealed on “The Talk” that she and husband Jeezy are expecting their first baby together. George Kapetanakis

“…I feel like you’ve all individually always told me to, if I wanted to be a mom, I’d be an awesome mom,” she shared.

The “Can’t Tell Me Nothing” rapper, 43, and Mai married in an intimate ceremony at home in Atlanta on March 27. One month before their wedding, the talk show host found out she was pregnant, but she ended up miscarrying.

Mai and Jeezy started dating in 2018 and tied the knot in March 2021. Getty Images for Grey Goose

“I wondered if I was being punished,” she told “Women’s Health.” “I wondered if I’d jinxed myself or cursed myself. My entire life, I never wanted children. When I say never, I’m talking a hard-stop never.”

The pair’s plans for a big wedding got derailed due to COVID, but they ultimately decided to exchange vows in an intimate ceremony in front of their immediate families and a handful of close friends.

Mai found out she was pregnant again a week after they exchanged vows.

Mai shows off her baby bump. George Kapetanakis

“It was the most beautiful sign that anything’s possible, that you’re not in control, and God has a plan,” she explained to the mag.

Mai and Jeezy began dating in 2018. Their union is Mai’s second marriage — she split from ex-husband Freddy Harteis in 2017 after 10 years of marriage — and the first for Jeezy, who is the father of three children.