Celebrity News

Mae Whitman ‘proud and happy’ to come out as pansexual

Mae Whitman tweeted that she’s “proud and happy” to come out as pansexual.

The “Parenthood” alum shared her sexual identity while praising her animated Disney Channel series, “The Owl House,” which features the network’s first bisexual lead character.

“Just taking a moment to say I am SO proud to be even a small part of a show like The Owl House. Being pansexual myself, I wish I had such incredible characters like Amity and Luz in my life when I was growing up,” Whitman tweeted on Monday.

“Queer representation is sososo important :,) keep it up world! #TOH”

The “Good Girls” actress, 33, followed up her initial tweet with a link to an explainer about pansexuality for those who might not understand.

“I know ppl might be unfamiliar with what pansexual means; for me it means I know I can fall in love with people of all genders. This is the word that fits me best [rainbow emoji] and I’m proud+happy to be part of the Bi+ community :,).”

Other celebrities who have come out as pansexual include Demi Lovato, JoJo Siwa and Cara Delevingne and model Lottie Moss.

After coming out as pansexual in March, Lovato shared in May that they’re non-binary and would be using they/them pronouns.

“I feel this best represents the fluidity I feel in my gender expression and allows me to feel most authentic and true to the person I both know I am and still am discovering,” they shared on their podcast.

The “Heart Attack” singer, 28, added that the admission about their sexuality “opens another level of vulnerability for me.”