Celebrity News
exclusive

Broadway star Alice Ripley denies TikToker’s grooming claims

Veteran Broadway actress Alice Ripley has denied claims that she allegedly “groomed” an underage fan.

“Recently, a claim has been made online against me,” the 57-year-old told Page Six exclusively on Monday. “There’s absolutely no validity to any of it. I appreciate everyone’s continued support.”

The two-time Tony Award winner’s denial came four days after TikTok user @lovelyleobrie, aka Brie Lynn, claimed Ripley started grooming her when she was as young as 12 years old. Lynn’s claims were made in a video uploaded to TikTok on Thursday — with at least six photos of her and Ripley on display.

“Growing up is realizing I was groomed by a Tony Award-winning Broadway actress,” the video begins, with Lynn lip-syncing the words to Billie Eilish’s “Happier Than Ever.”

1 of 5
A screenshot of Brie Lynn's TikTok video about Alice Ripley allegedly grooming her as a child.
TikToker Brie Lynn was the first to claim Ripley groomed her as a child.TikTok/Brie Lynn
TikToker Brie Lynn claims Alice Ripley groomed her
Lynn claims their first conversation was about Ripley wearing lingerie.TikTok/Brie Lynn
Advertisement
TikToker Brie Lynn claims Alice Ripley groomed her
Ripley allegedly continued a “friendship” with the young girl for several years.TikTok/Brie Lynn
Advertisement

She then goes on to address the “Next to Normal” star directly, making a list of disturbing claims about their alleged “relationship” at the time.

“Our first conversation was about a photo of you in lingerie,” Lynn alleged. “I was TWELVE & when I was THIRTEEN you told me that the first time we locked eyes you felt like the world stopped.”

1 of 5
TikToker Brie Lynn claims Alice Ripley groomed her
Lynn claims Ripley talked “sh-t” about her behind her back.TikTok
TikToker Brie Lynn claims Alice Ripley groomed her
“You made me HATE the Broadway community I once loved,” Lynn wrote.TikTok
Advertisement
TikToker Brie Lynn claims Alice Ripley groomed her
Lynn claims she spent 10 years trying to convince herself none of it happened.TikTok
Advertisement

“Grooming” is a word often used to describe actions undertaken from afar by a sexual predator or pedophile to prepare minors for an in-person meeting or inappropriate sexual contact.

Lynn’s video further alleges that Ripley was having “constant inappropriate interactions” with her. She also claims that one of Ripley’s “insane fans” tried to kill her.

“I’ve spent 10 years trying to convince myself it didn’t happen, that I was in the wrong,” Lynn continues. “You separated me from all of the friends I had made & you made me HATE the Broadway community I once loved.”

Lynn’s video had over 1.3 million views by Monday evening.

Ripley was scheduled to perform at 54 Below on Aug. 22 but the show was canceled “at the artist’s request,” the venue told Page Six via email.