Style

Lucy Hale removing matching tattoo she got with her sister: ‘I’m sorry’

The sun’s setting on Lucy Hale’s symbolic tattoo.

The 32-year-old actress took to Instagram on Sunday to wish her older sister a happy birthday — and a quick apology.

“I’ve made her get tattoos with me,” Hale captioned a photo of the pair showing off their sun tattoos, adding, “(I’m sorry Maggie I’m getting this one lasered off).”

While Lucy chose to ink the meaningful design on her torso, Maggie opted for her inner wrist.

“I have a little, tiny sun that I got with my sister in honor of our grandmother,” the “Pretty Little Liars” star told Rue Now in 2017.

Lucy Hale and her sister, Maggie, have two matching tattoos – but not for long. Instagram

Fortunately, the two will still share another set of matching designs. “This one will stay,” Hale said of her “I love you” wrist tattoo, which matches her sister’s and was written in their grandmother’s handwriting.

Lucy debuted the tat in a sweet snap with Maggie in 2018, which she reposted to her celebratory Instagram Story.

Lucy and her sister Maggie debuted their “I love you” tattoos as a tribute to their grandmother on Instagram in 2018. Instagram

“Nothing says sisterly bonding more than permanently tattooing your body,” Hale wrote at the time. “Our Grammy was our favorite person & now she’s even more a part of us.”

Hale and her “Pretty Little Liars” castmates also got matching tattoos “on [their] ‘shh’ fingers” in 2016, upon wrapping the show’s final season.