Celebrity News

Britney Spears vows to post less on Instagram due to ‘mean lies’ in media

It’s her prerogative.

Britney Spears vowed to post “a little less from now on” on her Instagram on Monday, due to feeling that the press has been “pretty nasty” to her over her social media.

In the caption for a video of food writer Jake Cohen making an avocado sandwich, which she posted to her own account, the 39-year-old pop star explained that, at first, she enjoyed sharing a glimpse of her life “in a system” where she felt “completely hopeless for so long.”

But, “Unfortunately the news has been pretty nasty saying horrible and mean lies about me so I’m gonna post a little less from now on 🤷🏼‍♀️🤷🏼‍♀️🤷🏼‍♀️ !!!!” she continued.

She added, “As Selena Gomez says it best – The world can be a nasty place.”

Spears, however, had kinder words for Cohen’s work, writing, “This was the coolest thing I’ve ever seen in my life and it’s inspired me to take on a new passion in the cooking field!!!!”

Gomez, meanwhile, responded kindly to both Spears’ shout-out and her “new passion,” writing, “Love you @britneyspears! You’re welcome to come cook with me any time.”

In recent weeks, Spears has posted everything from her favorite swimsuits to topless photos and videos of herself. But not all of Spears’ fellow celebs agree with the singer’s social strategy.

Backstreet Boy Brian Littrell told TMZ over the weekend that the mother of two should be “cautious” about what she posts amid her conservatorship battle.

“She has to be careful,” he said. “She’s a parent. She’s a mom. She’s in a unique situation.”

Spears seemingly addressed Littrell’s comments on Monday, writing in a separate post, “For a lot of you who say I should be cautious with what I post … I mean if you REALLY THINK ABOUT IT … with what I’ve been through I believe I been WAAAY TOO CAUTIOUS!!!! One day I will live on the edge!!!! One day.”

The singer also clarified that the public only knows “half” of the truth of her situation.