Celebrity News

Simone Biles’ boyfriend, Jonathan Owens, says he’s ‘always here’ for her

Jonathan Owens and Simone Biles
Jonathan Owens said that Simone Biles inspires him after she dropped out of the 2020 Olympics over mental health issues.Instagram

Jonathan Owens said he’ll “always” be there for girlfriend Simone Biles after the gymnast withdrew from the 2020 Olympic Games earlier this week.

“Imma ride with you through whatever baby ❤️,” the Houston Texans safety, 26, wrote in a post to Instagram Thursday along with a series of photos of Biles, 24. “Your strength and courage is unmatched and you inspire me more and more everyday SB 🤞🏽.”

Owens also took the opportunity to reiterate his deep feelings for the gold medalist and expressed how excited he was to see her return home to him.

“You always gone be my champ baby and don’t you ever forget that, i love you so much and i can’t wait till you come home and i get to see that beautiful smile again,” he wrote. “You know I’m always here for you baby ❤️❤️.”

Earlier this week, the NFL player took to Instagram to share his pride in Biles after she dropped out of the Olympics following an uncharacteristic balk on her vault.

Jonathan Owens in 2020.
The NFL player shared how proud he was of Biles earlier this week. Getty Images

Biles spoke out about the mishap Thursday, saying that her performance was ruined by a dangerous case of the twisties.

“Literally cannot tell up from down,” Biles explained of the affliction. “It’s the craziest feeling ever. Not having an inch of control over your body. What’s even scarier is since I have no idea where I am in the air I also have NO idea how I’m going land or what I’m going to land on. Head/hand/feet/back.”

Biles initially pulled out of the competition for her mental health, though USA Gymnastics told USA Today she backed out over a medical issue and would be “assessed daily to determine medical clearance for future competitions.”

Simone Biles and Jonathan Owens
The pair have been dating since summer 2020. Instagram

She also thanked fans for showing their support after she put her mental health first.

“The outpouring love & support I’ve received has made me realize I’m more than my accomplishments and gymnastics which I never truly believed before,” she tweeted.

Owens and Biles were first linked as a couple in summer 2020, going public on Instagram that August. He has claimed he didn’t know who the superstar athlete was when they met.