Celebrity News

Jamie Lynn Spears’ ‘Zoey 101’ co-stars support Britney after hearing

Britney Spears is getting support where she may have expected it least: her sister Jamie Lynn Spears’ former “Zoey 101” co-stars.

After the pop princess testified in court on Wednesday that she wants to sue her family over her allegedly “abusive” conservatorship, Alexa Nikolas and Paul Butcher, who starred opposite Jamie Lynn in the Nickelodeon series, took to social media to join the #FreeBritney movement.

“I support her,” Nikolas, 29, wrote on her Instagram Story on Thursday alongside an article about Britney’s bombshell court hearing.

Nikolas, who played Jamie Lynn’s friend Nicole Bristow in “Zoey 101,” went on to call the “Toxic” singer’s claim that she has been forced to use birth control “f–king heartbreaking,” writing, “WTF?!”

“This is so horrible,” Nikolas added before reposting a meme featuring the hashtag “#FreeBritney.”

Butcher, who played Jamie Lynn’s brother Dustin Brooks, also posted “#FreeBritney” on his Instagram Story on Thursday in addition to sharing a bit of insight into the woman he grew up admiring.

Paul Butcher posts the hashtag #FreeBritney on Instagram.
Paul Butcher came out in support of Spears following her court hearing. Instagram

“It breaks my heart hearing what Britney had to say and hearing what she’s been through,” Butcher, 27, wrote. “From someone who’s known her first hand, I used to be in awe and look up to her as a kid in pure wonder. She always had the kindest heart and has always had a magic about her, a light.”

He continued, “That magic deserves to be free to enjoy this world and truly shimmer like she always has. My prayer is that she get’s to live the life SHE wants to live. Sending you love and hoping for a brighter future for you. #FreeBritney.”

Jamie Lynn, for her part, has yet to publicly address her big sister’s conservatorship hearing. The actress, 30, turned off comments on her Instagram after fans called out her silence on the matter.

Nikolas and Butcher’s words of encouragement came after Britney, 39, testified against several members of her family and entourage, including dad Jamie Spears, in an effort to end her conservatorship, which she has been under since her 2008 breakdown.

Addressing Los Angeles Superior Court Judge Brenda Penny via phone, the Grammy winner said, “My dad and anyone involved in this conservatorship, and my management — who played huge roles in punishing me when I said ‘no’ [to going on tour] — ma’am, they should be in jail.

“I would honestly like to sue my family, to be totally honest with you,” she added during her 23-minute statement. “I also would like to be able to share my story with the world, and what they did to me, instead of it being a hush-hush secret to benefit all of them. I want to be able to be heard on what they did to me by making me keep this in for so long. It is not good for my heart. I’ve been so angry, and I cry every day.”

Jamie, who has had control over much of Britney’s personal life and finances over the years, has denied mismanaging the pop star’s career as one of her conservators.