Celebrity News

Kathie Lee Gifford teases ‘really special relationship with somebody’

Kathie Lee Gifford is happy with a new man in her life.

The former “Today” host, 67, revealed that she is in a “really special relationship with somebody that is nice and fun and healthy” on Thursday’s episode of the NBC morning show.

“It’s just happy, and I don’t want to mess it up, and I probably already have by just even mentioning it,” Gifford told Savannah Guthrie, Al Roker and Carson Daly. “To be in a place where you feel like every aspect of your life is good, that nothing’s missing, that’s a beautiful place to be. I’m just so grateful.”

While the former “Live” co-host did not reveal her boyfriend’s name, she teased on “Today with Hoda and Jenna” that “he’s the smartest person [she’s] ever met, and he’s funny.”

“We have a great time together, and so, at this point in my life, that’s exactly what I need and exactly what I want, you know?” she said. “Different seasons of life — we weren’t meant to know each other before, it’s right now. We don’t know what the future holds at all, but we’re having fun today.”

Gifford was married to Frank Gifford for almost three decades, from 1986 until his death in 2015.

The Nashville resident revealed in October 2020 that she had gone out with men “several times” following her husband’s death, but she hadn’t found love again just yet.

“I think I dated four different gentlemen, and they’re all great guys, but they’re not the guy for me,” she said at the time. “If I fall in love again, it will be because God just made it happen.”

Kathy also expressed that she had no intention of looking for love on websites or dating apps, so it’s unclear how she met her new beau.

If she needs it, the author can take wedding-planning tips from her children, as she walked her daughter, Cassidy, 27, down the aisle in June 2020 followed by her son, Cody, 31, in September.