Style

Hailey Baldwin sports a gold bra for Harper’s Bazaar

Hailey Baldwin shows off her body in a sculptural gold Saint Laurent bra.
Hailey Baldwin shows off her body in a sculptural gold Saint Laurent bra.Amy Troost ; Harper's Bazaar

Hailey Baldwin is a golden girl.

The model, 24, appears on the cover of Harper’s Bazaar’s May 2021 issue, wearing a Balenciaga metal mesh tank top and braided pigtails with rosy makeup.

Inside the magazine’s beauty issue, however, she sports a Saint Laurent gold bra under a tuxedo jacket and several daring beauty looks, including gold leaf speckled around her eyes.

The solid piece of metalwork is part of Saint Laurent creative director Anthony Vaccarello’s Summer 2021 collection and was inspired by the French fashion house’s 1969 collaboration with jeweler Claude Lalanne, which included a cast of legendary model Veruschka’s bust.

That same collab also inspired Tom Ford’s $15,000 “anatomical breastplates” from his Spring 2020 line, memorably worn by Gwyneth Paltrow and Zendaya.

Hailey Baldwin is one of the cover stars for the May issue of Harper's Bazaar.
Hailey Baldwin is one of the cover stars for the May issue of Harper’s Bazaar. Amy Troost ; Harper's Bazaar

While Baldwin posed in a bra inspired by one created nearly three decades before she was even born, much of her accompanying personal essay for Harper’s Bazaar focused on modern-day life and her future, including the downside of living in a digital era.

“When it comes to social media, I’ve definitely gone through so much comparison. Comparing myself to other people, getting compared to other people, feeling like I need to have this type of body in order to feel good about myself,” she said. “It can be such a dark hole that you go down, and it happens so quickly and easily.”

Baldwin also opened up about her insecurities and struggles to love herself.

“I’m only 24, and I’m still figuring out who I am as a woman. Who I am in my career. Who I am as a wife [to Justin Bieber],” she said. “Everyone has insecurities. Just because people tell [me I’m] beautiful? That’s not how I see it, and that’s not how I feel all the time.”