Celebrity News
exclusive

Courtney Stodden credits Elliot Page after coming out as non-binary

Courtney Stodden credited trailblazing stars like Elliot Page and Sam Smith with helping them come out as non-binary.

“For the longest time I would sit in the shadows and watch brave souls like Elliot Page, Sam Smith and other mainstream celebrities come out,” the reality star, 26, told Page Six. “I knew I felt the same as them, but I was afraid I would be ignored because I present as high-femme non-binary.”

Page, who is best known for his role in 2007’s “Juno,” came out as transgender in December, while Grammy winner Smith also identifies as non-binary.

Stodden told us that their LBGTQIA+ fans gave them the courage to “live my truth fearlessly regardless of my presentation.”

The “Celebrity Big Brother UK” alum announced last week that they will be using “they/them/their” pronouns going forward as their “spirit is fluid.”

“I don’t Identify as she or her. I’ve never felt like I ever fit in anywhere. I was bullied horribly in school because I was different,” they tweeted. “The other girls never understood me. I never really connected with anyone my age. My spirit is fluid w a kaleidoscope of color.”

Many Twitter and Instagram users flooded Stodden with praise after their announcement.

“i’m about to f–kin cry you are truly amazing and such a beautiful soul,” wrote one follower.

“One of the strongest individuals ever,” commented another. “So much love & respect.”

“You’re a maverick,” wrote a third fan. “Why peck with the chickens when you can fly with the eagles.”

“So so happy to see you finally taking control of your life and being yourself ❤️,” added another.

Stodden was previously married to actor Doug Hutchison.