Beauty
exclusive

Teyana Taylor on beauty, body and stalking Pharrell for skincare tips

As the 154 million people (and counting) who’ve watched Kanye West’s “Fade” video already know, Teyana Taylor’s got flawless skin. But believe it or not, fans can find all her beauty secrets at their local drugstore.

“Coconut oil, olive oil and shea butter,” the 30-year-old dancer, musician, actress and director told Page Six Style of her top three skincare essentials, which she slathers on her face before bed to ensure she wakes up looking “so dewy.”

“I’m from Harlem, so on 125th [Street], you got all the shea butters lined up. You can go to the beauty supply store, to CVS, wherever. I like one-stop-shop kind of places.”

For her body, the Olay ambassador uses the brand’s Cleansing & Renewing Nighttime Body Wash ($7.99) and Nighttime Rinse-off Body Conditioner ($5.99) to keep all the skin south of her face equally moisturized. “You know how soft your hair is after you wash and condition? That’s what this does, but for the body,” Taylor told us.

Teyana Taylor performs at the 2019 Essence Festival.
Teyana Taylor performs at the 2019 Essence Festival. FilmMagic

“You can get in the shower, you can do scrubs, you can do whatever — and the moment you get out … if you forget to lotion, everything you did in that shower was in vain.”

The “Wake Up Love” singer first learned the importance of a good skincare routine as a teen, when she linked up with the perennially youthful-looking Pharrell Williams.

“This guy just does not age!” she exclaimed. “Luckily, I was signed to him, so I got the inside scoop. I’m an observer. I try to pick up things I see rather than asking people — although if something smells good, I’m just gonna take it.”

Taylor even admitted to pilfering some of the super-producer’s products.

“I’m like, okay, gonna take that, gonna take this, you’re definitely not getting this back — okay, what’s that you use for the lips? Okay, I like that. What’s that on the cheekbones, Pharrell?” she recalled with a laugh. “It’s insane. He’s like, ‘Literally, I just wash my face and I put on lotion.'”

Teyana Taylor poses with Pharrell Williams in 2008.
Teyana Taylor poses with Pharrell Williams in 2008. WireImage

But the simplicity of his routine rubbed off on Taylor. “Honestly, I started living like a guy,” she said. “They’ll wash their face with any old soap they see around. And they’ll put on whatever lotion. So I got to a place where I’m like, cool. I wash my face, and I literally just put coconut oil on. And my skin got more and more beautiful as I stopped overthinking it.”

The same goes for the mother of two’s workout regimen, which revolves around dance and rarely involves her setting foot in an actual gym.

“Dancing is very underrated in the fitness world,” the choreographer said. “The same way you’ll be sore after a gym workout is the same way we’ll go on tour, go on stage, perform and be done the next day. Like, body [is] sore, but everything is so tight and so strong.”

Taylor does admit, however, that the secret behind her incredible body is “definitely a little bit in the genes.”

“My parents are naturally fit,” she told us. “I was 6 years old with a six-pack!”