Celebrity News

Amy Schumer shares emotional video of her dad meeting Goldie Hawn

Amy Schumer brightened a few timelines Friday with a heartfelt video of her father meeting Goldie Hawn for the first time.

A choked-up Gordon Schumer is seen in the video with tears in his eyes as he realizes he’s “about to meet Goldie,” though his famous daughter tells him to “play it cool.”

As the Hollywood icon enters the room, she sees how moved Gordon is and says, “I’m emotional too!” before giving her longtime fan a hug.

Hawn, 75, and Amy, 39, starred together in the 2017 comedy “Snatched.”

Amy first shared the video in 2017.

Amy’s father has suffered from multiple sclerosis since the actress was 12 years old, and he currently resides in an assisted living facility. Schumer and 22-month-old son Gene were finally able to visit Gordon just last week for the first time in a year because of the pandemic.

Amy Schumer shares emotional video of dad meeting Goldie Hawn.
Amy Schumer shares an emotional video of dad meeting Goldie Hawn. Getty Images

In a 2015 interview with Barbara Walters, Amy spoke of the unpredictability of the disease, and how difficult her father’s swings can be: “Some days he’s really good and he’s with it and we’re joking around,” she said. “And some days I go to visit my dad and it’s so painful. I can’t believe it.”

“In terms of my dad being sick, it was just confusing to me, especially the way MS works,” Schumer continued. “He was in physical pain. That’s when I kind of took the lead and took care of everybody in my family. I would keep them — I would keep everybody laughing.”