Parents

Why Irina Shayk despises the term ‘co-parenting’

Irina Shayk in Elle
Irina Shayk strikes a pose for Elle.Chris Colls/Elle

Don’t use the term “co-parenting” around Irina Shayk.

The supermodel, who shares 3-year-old daughter Lea with ex Bradley Cooper, says that the overused term diminishes their roles as parents.

“I never understood the term co-parenting. When I’m with my daughter, I’m 100 percent a mother, and when she’s with her dad, he’s 100 percent her dad. Co-parenting is parenting,” Shayk, 35, told told Elle in a new digital cover story.

The pair clearly have a harmonious relationship and have been frequently spotted together post-breakup enjoying family lunches or going for strolls with their daughter.

Shayk also explained why she’s reticent to talk about her relationship with the “A Star is Born” actor, whom she dated from 2015 until 2019.

“My past relationship, it’s something that belongs to me, and it’s private,” she said. “It’s just a piece of my inner self that I don’t want to give away.”

Irina Shayk and Bradley cooper share a daughter named Lea.
Irina Shayk and Bradley Cooper are pictured with their daughter, Lea. Getty Images

And the Sports Illustrated cover girl swears she never reads the reams of copy written about her.

“I don’t read what is out there. Honestly, I’m too busy raising a child. If they want to write articles [about me], they’re doing their job,” Shayk said. “I’m concentrating on my life and my friends. The rest is just noise.”

Cooper, 46, created quite a bit of noise last year when he was snapped enjoying a day on the beach with his “Alias” co-star Jennifer Garner. The two built sandcastles with Cooper’s tyke Lea.