Beauty
exclusive

Yandy Smith on Yelle Skincare and the high price of style

The COVID-19 pandemic may have paused production on “Love & Hip Hop,” but for Yandy Smith’s Yelle Skincare, business is booming.

“Thank God my beauty business really took off. Even though the show stopped shooting, my skincare line [is actually doing] better than before,” the entrepreneur and reality star, 38, told Page Six Style.

Smith, who previously managed music superstars like Missy Elliott and Busta Rhymes, launched her line of plant-based products “exclusively for melanin-rich skin” in 2017.

“I’m not into makeup at all, so I like to make sure the canvas is beautiful so I don’t have to put a lot on,” she explained of her beauty approach, adding that she rotates between products from The Mane Choice, Curls and Camille Rose to keep her hair looking its best.

Since “Love & Hip Hop” provides its cast with makeup but not hair or wardrobe, Smith supplies those on her own — at a steep cost.

“My stylist gets paid $3,000 a month,” she revealed. “And my hair person is on salary now because I have to use him every day while I’m shooting. I was never into hair and makeup before I got on TV.”

As for her personal style? “I’m a mix between class, business and ratchet,” Smith said. “You might get a little ratchet when we have a club scene. Occasionally you might get a suit, or you might get a Champion sweatsuit, or you might just get a great ‘freak ’em’ dress with six-inch heels.”

“Love & Hip Hop: Secrets Unlocked” premieres Jan 4.