Celebrity News

Laverne Cox says she and friend were targeted in transphobic attack

Laverne Cox revealed on Sunday she and her friend were attacked in Griffith Park in Los Angeles because she is transgender.

The actress opened up about the incident in a video posted on Instagram, stating she was still “kind of in shock” and “super triggered.”

Cox, 48, shared that she and her friend went for a “socially distanced” walk at the popular California hiking site and her identity was a bit hidden due to her face mask and hoodie.

“We pass this guy, and the guy very aggressively asks for the time,” she said, adding that the unnamed man then asked her friend, “Guy or girl?”

“My friend says f—k off,” the “Orange Is the New Black” star said. “I’m walking. I’m hearing … all this is happening like in a split second, and then all of a sudden, the guy is attacking my friend and I look back and I’m like, ‘What is happening?'”

Cox said when the man began hitting her friend she went to call 911 for help, but the attacker escaped. She said she was in a state of shock over what took place.

“I’m safe, my friend is fine,” the LGBTQ+ advocate said. “The guy left after my friend deescalated it.”

She added, “It’s not safe in the world and I don’t like to think about that a lot but it is the truth. It’s the truth and it’s not safe if you’re a trans person, obviously. I know this well.”

Cox said although the incident was not “new” to her because she’s been “harassed and bullied” her whole life, she was still taken aback by it.

She reassured her fans and friends in the caption, “We are fine. Be careful out there. #TransIsBeautiful.”

Pals of the “Rocky Horror Picture Show: Let’s Do the Time Warp Again” star flooded the comments section with messages of support.

Transgender advocate and triathlete Chris Mosier wrote, “So grateful you are physically okay. Sending you love for the mental & emotional tolls.”