Celebrity News

Ellen DeGeneres wins People’s Choice Award, thanks fans for ‘sticking by’ her

The people have spoken, and they’re standing by Ellen DeGeneres.

After her eponymous daytime talk show was rocked by toxic workplace allegations, 62-year-old DeGeneres somehow transformed from the beleaguered host to the beloved host once again as she accepted E!’s People’s Choice Award Sunday night for best daytime talk show.

“I am not only accepting this award for myself, I’m accepting it on behalf of my amazing crew, my amazing staff who make this show possible,” DeGeneres said in her speech. “They show up every single day. They give a hundred percent of themselves a hundred percent of the time.

“My point is I love them all,” she continued. “I thank them for what they do every single day to help that show be the best that we try to make it every single day. … I say thank you to the people. Thank you to all of my fans for supporting me for sticking by me. I cannot tell you how grateful I am.”

DeGeneres apologized to her employees in memos and addressed her fans during the show’s September season premiere. She’s also returned to promoting her “Be Kind” mantra by way of gift boxes valued at $270.