Celebrity News

Jennie Garth, Tori Spelling address Jessica Alba’s ‘no eye contact’ claim

Former “Beverly Hills, 90210” stars Jennie Garth and Tori Spelling are addressing Jessica Alba’s claims that she wasn’t allowed to make eye contact with the cast while she filmed the teen series.

In a teaser for their new podcast, “9021OMG,” both Garth, 48, and Spelling, 47, said they had no recollection of the harsh rule.

“Tori, did you — I just need to know, did you tell her not to look me in the eye?” asked Garth.

“Why’s it all about you?” Spelling asked, laughing.

“Well, because I had all the scenes with her,” said Garth, who played Kelly Taylor on the series. “Like, if anybody was, you know, didn’t want to have their eyes looked into, it would’ve been me. But I don’t remember, because I have the world’s worst memory.”

Spelling speculated that maybe producers sent around a “cool memo” that made the odd request.

“Imagine we just thought like guest stars didn’t like us,” Spelling said. “They never looked at us! We don’t know why! We were so nice!”

Garth remembered Alba being “super talented” on set.

“She was very young and she was really sweet,” she said of Alba, who played pregnant teen Leanne. “It does not surprise me that she’s gone on to be so successful.”

Last week, Alba, 39, appeared on “Hot Ones” and recalled the difficult rule on the set of the teen drama.

“I couldn’t even make eye contact with any of the cast members, which was really strange when you’re like trying to do a scene with them,” she told host Sean Evans. “It was like, ‘You’re not allowed to make eye contact with any one of the cast members or you’ll be thrown off the set.’”

Both Ian Ziering and Jason Priestley, who played Steve Sanders and Brandon Walsh on the series respectively, also said they had no idea who would’ve told Alba not to make eye contact.

“‘Don’t look at the stars of the show’ was never an edict that came down on our show,” Priestley said on KiSS 92.5’s “The Roz & Mocha Show.” “I don’t know who told Jessica Alba not to look at us.”

Ziering added in an interview with Entertainment Tonight, “I can’t confirm whether it’s true or not. I’m not doubting her, I’m sure that was her experience. Someone probably told her [that]. She’s not a liar.”