Celebrity News

Dorinda Medley says ‘RHONY’ exit wasn’t a mutual decision

If Dorinda Medley had her way, she’d still be on “Real Housewives of New York.”

The reality show star was recently let go from the series, telling former co-star Bethenny Frankel that the decision was not a mutual one between herself and Bravo.

“I was ready to go back. I was excited about going back. I was planning on going back, and I thought I would have a great year,” the “RHONY” alum, 55, told Frankel, 49, on her “Just B” podcast. She added that she doesn’t agree with the network and Andy Cohen defining her departure as a “pause.”

“I’m an old-fashioned girl,” she said. “If you’re not waitressing and getting paid, you’re not waitressing, OK? You know what I’m saying? So at the end of the day, was it mutual? No.”

She admittedly didn’t have the best season, but hoped to redeem herself throughout Season 13.

“I probably should have taken a year off,” she admitted, “I had a rough season, but that’s what we do as Housewives. We have good seasons, we have bad seasons. We come back, and we change it up.”

Medley received her pink slip via phone call shortly after speaking to a woman who was making a gingerbread version of the reality star’s Blue Stone Manor estate in the Berkshires.

“I’m thinking how it’s gonna be great for the show. ‘Oh, my God, this is gonna be my season, and I’m gonna come back because everything is done. I’m in a good place,’” she recalled thinking, going on to add, “no one likes rejection.”

The Bravo staple announced her departure from “The Real Housewives of New York” after six seasons back in August.

“What a journey this has been. I have laughed and cried and tried to Make it Nice…,” Medley began on Instagram, “But all things must come to an end. This was a great outlet for me to heal when my late husband Richard passed away. I have met so many interesting people and learned so much about myself, about life and about women along the way.”