Celebrity News

Sia announces she’s a grandmother after her son welcomes 2 babies

Sia’s family is quickly expanding.

The “Chandelier” singer, 44, announced she’s a grandmother after her son welcomed two children.

“My youngest son just had two babies,” she shared on Zane Lowe’s Apple Music show on Tuesday. “I’m just immediately horrified. No, I’m cool. They call me Nana. I’m trying to get them to call me Lovey, like Kris [Jenner]. I’m like, ‘Call me Lovey.'”

In May, Sia revealed she had adopted two teenage boys in 2019 because they were “aging out of the foster care system.” Her two sons are 19 years old now.

In her interview with Lowe, she elaborated on her decision to adopt them.

“I’m a little bit jaded now after investigating the foster system as much as I have done in the last year,” she said. “It’s failing us. Not in my experience, in my sons’ experience. They’ve been in 18 different locations in their 18 years.”

Sia also admitted that adopting two black sons was really what taught her about race and privilege.

“I’m embarrassed that it took me to adopt two black sons to really understand what they go through on a daily basis,” she confessed.

“I’ve very scared for my children. I love them very much,” she continued. “I’ve only experienced white privilege and I know that now. I am fully aware of how much I’ve experienced white privilege, and now I have these two black sons who tell me how it really is.”