Celebrity News

Winona Ryder defends ex Johnny Depp in Amber Heard defamation lawsuit

Winona Ryder has Johnny Depp‘s back.

The actress, 48, submitted a declaration on the “Pirates of the Caribbean” star’s behalf in his lawsuit against his ex-wife, Amber Heard. In the documents obtained by The Blast, she claimed that she cannot believe that Depp, 56, would ever commit an act of domestic violence.

”I knew Johnny very well years ago. We were together as a couple for four years, and I counted him as my best friend, and as close to me as family. I count our relationship as one of the more significant relationships of my life. I understand that it is very important that I speak from my own experience,” she stated in the declaration (via the outlet).

“I obviously was not there during his marriage to Amber, but, from my experience, which was so wildly different, I was absolutely shocked, confused and upset when I heard the accusations against him. The idea that he is an incredibly violent person is the farthest thing from the Johnny I knew and loved. I cannot wrap my head around these accusations.”

She also claimed she never witnessed him being abusive to anyone in the past, and she does not believe that he is a violent person.

“He was never, never violent towards me,” she stated. “He was never, never abusive at all towards me. He has never been violent or abusive towards anybody I have seen. I truly and honestly only know him as a really good man – an incredibly loving, extremely caring guy who was so very protective of me and the people that he loves, and I felt so very, very safe with him.”

“I do not want to call anyone a liar but from my experience of Johnny, it is impossible to believe that such horrific allegations are true. I find it extremely upsetting knowing him as I do.”

The “Stranger Things” actress said she would testify as a witness on his behalf if necessary as well.

Ryder and Depp were engaged for three years after he proposed in July 1990. Depp infamously changed a tattoo that said “Winona Forever” to “Wino Forever” after they split. Ryder apparently had no hard feelings about the edited ink.

Meanwhile, Heard, 33, and Depp were married from 2015 until 2017.

After Heard alleged Depp was violent during their relationship, the actor answered back with a $50 million defamation suit in March 2019.

Heard claimed in her own court filings that he repeatedly hit her, ripped out her hair, choked and nearly suffocated her. She also alleged that he abused drugs and alcohol in front of her.

Depp has refused to release documents to support her claims.

The case is ongoing.