Celebrity News

Shannen Doherty ‘embracing every day’ but ‘depressed’ in cancer battle

Shannen Doherty remains a fighter in her ongoing battle with stage 4 cancer.

The former “Beverly Hills, 90210,” star, 48, shared photos on Instagram of her spending time with fitness trainer Kira Stokes and model Anne Marie.

“After a year of dealing with cancer coming back and other stresses, I’m back at it. Taking care of myself and embracing every day,” Doherty wrote in the post. “It’s not always easy. I have days I’m depressed or just plain lazy. But I push thru with the help of friends,” she captioned the series of photos, which included snaps of their healthy meals.

“@annemkortright has been relentless in getting me to hike and learning new ways to cook that feed my soul as well as my tummy but in a very healthy way. She along with @cheforen @maliburadkitchen have made cooking healthy fun and sustainable,” she continued. “If that wasn’t enough…. Annemarie brought in @kirastokesfit to kick my butt yesterday!

“It’s been a productive great week. I feel better. My skin is alive and so am I.”

“Petrified” Doherty revealed in early February that her cancer had returned following a 3-year remission.

“I don’t think that I’ve processed it,” she said on “Good Morning America” at the time. “It’s a bitter pill to swallow in a lot of ways. I definitely have days where I say, ‘Why me?’ And then I go, ‘Well, why not me? Who else besides me deserves this?’ None of us do.”

Doherty was first diagnosed with breast cancer in March 2015. When she entered remission, she acknowledged her cancer could return.

“Reoccurrences happen all the time. Many of you have shared that very story with me. So with a heart that is certainly lighter, I wait,” the self-proclaimed “cancer slayer” said in 2017.