Celebrity News

Pete Davidson knew Ariana Grande engagement was over when Mac Miller died

Pete Davidson had a feeling his engagement to Ariana Grande would end when Mac Miller died.

Sitting down for an all-encompassing interview with Charlamagne Tha God, the “Saturday Night Live” star admitted that watching his ex-fiancée publicly grieve her ex-boyfriend was difficult.

“I totally got it,” said Davidson, 26. “She would even tell you this. I was like, ‘Listen, I get it, do whatever you’ve got to do, I’ll be here.’ I think I said, ‘I’ll be here until you don’t want me to be here.’”

The “Big Time Adolescence” star figured their relationship wouldn’t withstand the tragedy but defended Grande, saying her mourning was 100 percent genuine.

“I pretty much knew it was around over after that,” he continued. “That was really horrible, and I can’t imagine what that s–t is like. All I do know is that she really loved the s–t out of him, and she wasn’t putting on a show or anything. That was f–ked up. Prayers to his family and all of his friends.”

For more on Pete Davidson’s recent comments, listen to this episode of the Page Six podcast, “We Hear“: 

Miller, who dated Grande for two years, died at age 26 in September 2018 of an accidental overdose of fentanyl, cocaine and alcohol.

Davidson and the “Sweetener” singer, 26, began dating in May 2018 and Davidson proposed in June. Less than two months after Miller’s passing, Grande and Davidson split.

The “SNL” actor went on to date Kate Beckinsale and Kaia Gerber but said the latter relationship ended because of his personal struggles.