Celebrity News
exclusive

Ramy Youssef jokes about being the next James Bond

Ramy Youssef says his life has drastically changed since his surprise win at the 2020 Golden Globes for Best Actor in the Television Series Musical or Comedy category.

The 28-year-old stand-up comic told Page Six that he has been inundated with movie offers.
“I’ve been offered, like, every movie, it’s crazy,” he said while attending the premiere of Hulu’s “High Fidelity,” starring Zoë Kravitz in the adaptation of the cult classic novel by Nick Hornby.

“I’m going to be new Bond. The [James] Bond people called me,” Youssef joked. “They were like, ‘Dude, let’s go!’ And I was like, ‘Let’s do it!’

Youssef won the Golden Globe for his eponymous Hulu series about a Muslim born to immigrant parents in the US. It’s a storyline that’s not unfamiliar to the actor’s own. The “See Dad Run” star was born in Queens to Egyptian parents.

His win was an upset, beating out Ben Platt, Paul Rudd, Michael Douglas and Bill Hader for the statue. So did Youssef think that perhaps there had been a mixup?

“No, I knew [I won] because I saw [Jennifer] Aniston wondering how to pronounce it and I went, ‘That’s me!’ I could see it in her eyes before it even happened,” he explained.