Celebrity News

Fabolous recalls dissing, subsequently apologizing to Beyoncé and Solange

Fabolous revealed in a “Breakfast Club” interview taped Thursday that he once ruffled Beyoncé’s feathers by mentioning her and sister Solange in a tune called “For the Money.” (Featuring Nicki Minaj!)

“It was on a mixtape, and I said, ‘If you could have Beyoncé, would you take Solange?,” he recalled, adding that he meant the line to be “punchy and metaphoric.”

But, “I didn’t see the deeper side of it. And then Beyoncé showed me [by] saying something like that could personally hurt her. And I said, ‘You know what? I get it. And when I see Solange, I will apologize to her.’ I did see her at Soho House one day. This was years ago. So I thought, ‘Let me beeline to Solange and apologize. And she was stiff … she said, ‘What’s up?’ I say, ‘I didn’t mean any malice, and I do take responsibility for saying that and I apologize.’”

He said he’d figured it was all on “the mixtape level” that was “never going to reach Solange and Beyoncé’s ears.”