Fashion

Philipp Plein relies on mom, others, to help cast his shows

Designer Philipp Plein is so focused on fashion that he says he has to rely on his mom to tell him which hip celebrities to put on his runways.

“I’m really bad because whenever I want a performer at my fashion show I ask my mother, I ask my sister, my girlfriend, ‘Do you know this person?’ And if my mother and sister say ‘no,’ then I cut [the star] from walking or performing,” he told Page Six Tuesday at his boutique.

The designer was debuting a new unisex fragrance called the $kull, which retails for a pungent $445. Plein continued the night with an after-party at his townhouse, catered by TAO. But, like many hosts, he can’t stand overeager guests. “It starts at 9 o’clock,” he said as he left the launch. “So don’t come before that.”

His shows are known to attract celebs including Paris Hilton, Bella Thorne, Mickey Rourke and Lindsay Lohan. Earlier this year, he was scammed out of $900,000 by a faux Kanye West booker who said the rapper would play his NYC fashion show.