Celebrity News

Justin Bieber addresses past racist remarks, calls for equality

Is it too late now to say sorry?

Justin Bieber wants to use his platform to take a “stand against racism” after being guilty himself of using racial slurs in the past.

“When I was young I was uneducated and found myself saying really hurtful things not knowing the power of my words,” he wrote on Instagram Tuesday. “Racism Is still very prevalent and I want to use my voice to remind we are all human being and all of EQUAL VALUE BEFORE GOD!”

In a separate post, the “I Don’t Care” singer, who is very spiritual, said he set new goals for himself heading into Christmas.

“I’m determined this holiday season to take ownership of all my shortcomings and work on them for myself and the ones I love!” he shared.

Bieber, 25, came under fire in 2014 when a video surfaced of him using the N-word while making a racist joke.

He was reportedly a teenager when the video was shot, and his team told Page Six at the time, “[Justin] realized it was wrong and went to Usher and Will Smith, who helped educate him. He’s now a 20-year-old who’s taken responsibility.”

However, more racist claims against Bieber were made when another video showed the singer altering the lyrics of his 2009 hit song “One Less Lonely Girl” to “One Less Lonely ­N—r,” and joking about joining the Ku Klux Klan.

“As a young man, I didn’t understand the power of certain words and how they can hurt,” Bieber said in a statement at the time, according to CNN. “I thought it was OK to repeat hurtful words and jokes, but didn’t realize at the time that it wasn’t funny and that in fact my actions were continuing the ignorance.”