Style

Joan Collins thinks wearing jeans is ‘tragic’

Joan Collins has some very strong opinions about denim.

The 86-year-old actress, who stars in Valentino’s new holiday campaign video, mourned the death of elegance and dressing up in a new interview with Vogue.

“I really hope that people will spend more money on clothes, because nobody dresses up anymore,” the “Dynasty” star bemoaned. “If you do, then people stare at you, or make cutting remarks … well, maybe not cutting, but they’ll say something like, ‘Oh, look at you! You’re all dressed up.’ I find that very sad, because it will be the end of women buying elegant clothes in stores. Everybody’s going to end up in jeans and T-shirts, which I think is tragic.”

Added Collins: “I hate jeans. I hate them, they’re so unflattering. And I hate jeans with holes in the knees, or holes anywhere. I’m not keen on T-shirts with logos, either. I like to be comfortable, but I want to be elegant, too.”

The TV legend’s distaste for denim is particularly surprising considering that she had her very own Joan Collins Jeans line in the early 1980s.

She’s clearly changed her stance on the fabric since, telling the Daily Mail in 2010 that she found denim “terribly boring” and, in 2012, that women should stop wearing them “once they hit 40.”