Celebrity News

‘20/20′ co-anchor Amy Robach says running has been ‘like therapy’ for her

Though running has long been part of Amy Robach‘s life, participating in the upcoming New York City Marathon holds a special significance for the “20/20” co-anchor.

“My six-year anniversary of being diagnosed with cancer just so happens to be four days before the race, so that will be in our hearts as we run together,” Robach, 46, recently told Page Six.

Robach — whose husband, Andrew Shue, is running with her in Sunday’s marathon — was diagnosed with breast cancer in 2013, and said running has helped her de-stress amid life’s ups and downs.

“I loved how strong and powerful it made me feel,” Robach said. “Over the years, running has been like therapy for me and helps me clear my head and my heart.”

The ABC News star also credited running for saving her during difficult moments, such as her 2008 divorce from Tim McIntosh.

“Even if I could only run a mile or two, at least I felt a little stronger afterwards and that feeling carried me through my moments of weakness,” she said.

With Shue planning to be by Robach’s side for the annual NYRR event, he said, “The best thing about this experience is that we’re running it together.”

“We’ve really enjoyed our training runs and I recommend it to all couples. It’s a great bonding experience. When we cross that finish line together, it will be an achievement we will always remember,” the former “Melrose Place” star said.

Shue, 52, also said that taking part in the marathon is “more about running with Amy, celebrating life and her way of living.”

“In the last six years, we’ve climbed mountains and pushed and tested ourselves in ways that bring joy to all our lives,” he said. “This is really just about doing this with her and crossing the finish line with her.”

Set to play Robach’s “wingman” on marathon day, Shue joked about keeping pace with her. “Maybe it will be like I’m her Secret Service agent protecting her on the run,” he said.

Robach wed Shue in 2010.

Andrew Shue and Amy Robach
Andrew Shue and Amy RobachPatrick McMullan via Getty Image