Beauty

Nicole Kidman’s beauty secret: Reapplying SPF 100+ sunscreen ‘every 90 minutes’

Nicole Kidman is not messing around when it comes to the sun.

The 52-year-old actress was asked about her skincare routine in an interview for Allure magazine‘s November 2019 issue, and revealed that her secret is lots of water, even more creams and an endless reapplication of sunscreen.

“I used to be like, ‘All those creams, who cares?’” the “Big Little Lies” star told the publication. “But definitely as I’ve gotten older, I’ve realized those creams are necessary.”

“I’m shooting outdoors a lot, so the most important thing is the sunscreen — I use Neutrogena SPF 100+,” Kidman, who is a spokeswoman for the brand, continued. “I reapply every 90 minutes, every single day.”

According to an article in The New York Times, a triple-digit SPF offers only 1% more UVB protection than SPF 50, and the FDA has even proposed capping sunscreen’s SPF at 50+.

Dr. Barbara A. Gilchrest, a dermatology professor at Boston University School of Medicine who was interviewed for the piece, added that these super-high SPFs are “crazy” and that “for a normal person who is fair-skinned and concerned about skin damage and photo-aging, it’s really in my opinion tremendous overkill.”