Celebrity News

Shay Mitchell was in labor for 33 hours

Shay Mitchell was in labor for 33 hours before welcoming her first baby.

The “Pretty Little Liars” alum posted a video to YouTube capturing everything from the moment her water broke until she and boyfriend Matte Babel saw their baby girl for the first time.

“The past nine months have been more than I ever imagined,” she captioned the video. “Pregnancy has been one of the most exciting, challenging and physically demanding things I’ve ever done. It’s brought a new meaning to family and my partnership with Matte — I’ve watched my daughter develop and grow and now I’m READY to meet her!”

Fearing things weren’t feeling right, the 32-year-old TV star headed straight to the hospital as she began her contractions.

After about seven painful hours of labor, the doctor told Mitchell her daughter would “take a long time to deliver” and at hour 13 when she began having stable contractions she was given Pitocin to make her labor move faster.

The actress’ pain started to become more unbearable so after two days of no sleep and 23 hours in labor, so she opted for an epidural.

Finally, at hour 33, it was time for Mitchell to push and she delivered her baby with Babel, wearing a “no ovaries no opinion” shirt right by her side.

“I can’t. Oh, it’s so crazy,” Mitchell said through tears as she saw her baby for the first time.

She explained that giving birth was the most intense experience of her life.

“Matte and I are parents and I can’t believe it,” she said. “We thought getting pregnant was a journey? We’re realizing we have just begun.”

Mitchell previously revealed she suffered a miscarriage in 2018. She also shared she was extremely depressed at the start of her pregnancy.