Celebrity News

Al Roker undergoing hip replacement surgery

Al Roker is undergoing hip replacement surgery on Wednesday.

“All of the sudden in the last three months my left hip has been deteriorating and decided let me go get it taken care of,” he announced Tuesday on the “Today” show. “Going in [Wednesday] and with any luck, I’ll be back in a week and a half or so.”

Roker, 65, said osteoarthritis, the most common form of arthritis, according to the Mayo Clinic, was a contributing factor.

“My sister Lisa is having both of hers done so we’ve got a family plan going,” the weatherman said.

Roker also said that walking during his recent trip to Greenland, where he reported on climate change, didn’t help his condition.

“What I really needed was somebody to carry me in a Baby Bjorn,” he quipped.

Early on Wednesday, he posted a video from his hospital bed and wrote, “Well, here we go!! Waiting to get my #totalhipreplacement I’m ready!!”

He hopes to return to the NBC morning show on Monday, Sept. 30.