Celebrity News

Harry Styles bit off the tip of his tongue after tripping on mushrooms

Harry Styles can apparently sing through anything.

The singer, 25, told Rolling Stone psychedelic drugs got the creative juices flowing when it came to recording his new album — but one trip ended painfully, with Styles biting off a piece of his tongue.

“We’d do mushrooms, lie down on the grass, and listen to Paul McCartney’s ‘Ram’ in the sunshine,” he told the publication. “We’d just turn the speakers into the yard.”

The “Sign of the Times” crooner, whose shirtless cover sent fans into a frenzy, admitted they’d keep chocolate edibles in the studio fridge, near the blender.

“You’d hear the blender going, and think, ‘So we’re all having frozen margaritas at 10 a.m. this morning,'” he continued, adding, “This is where I was standing when we were doing mushrooms and I bit off the tip of my tongue. So I was trying to sing with all this blood gushing out of my mouth.

“So many fond memories, this place.”

Those “fond memories,” however, didn’t extend to his personal life. The former One Direction star wouldn’t mention ex-girlfriend Camille Rowe by name but admitted the heartbreak he suffered from their breakup fueled a lot of his new album.

“It’s not like I’ve ever sat and done an interview and said, ‘So I was in a relationship, and this is what happened,’” he said. “Because, for me, music is where I let that cross over. It’s the only place, strangely, where it feels right to let that cross over.”

Styles’ confidant, British singer-songwriter Tom Hull, a.k.a. Kid Harpoon, helped him move on from the heartbreak.

“The stars didn’t align for them to be a forever thing,” Hull explained to the magazine. “But I told him that famous Iggy Pop quote where he says, ‘I only ever date women who are going to f–k me up, because that’s where the songs are.’ I said, ‘You’re 24, 25 years old, you’re in the eligible-bachelor category.

“‘Just date amazing women, or men, or whatever, who are going to f–k you up, and explore and have an adventure and let it affect you and write songs about it.’”