Celebrity News

Colin Jost jokes about getting married at Hamptons benefit

Saturday Night Live” star Colin Jost took the stage at Guild Hall in the Hamptons this weekend to benefit celiac disease research.

“I don’t understand the level of landscaping that occurs out here,” he told the well-heeled crowd. “It’s madness to me. It’s like, ‘look, I put in 1,000 bushes so I never have to see my neighbor.’ ‘Oh, who do you live next to?’ ‘Billy Joel!’ ‘You see him a lot?’ ‘No, no, he put up 2,000 bushes.’ ”

And when it comes to gated properties, he cracked, “People make fun of Trump for trying to build a wall. Everyone in East Hampton is building their own small wall.”

Jost, who is engaged to Scarlett Johansson (and was sporting a ring on his right hand), also got into his love life. “I’m getting married, and it’s such a crazy thing,” he said. “I was so scared of marriage for so long because every time I talked to someone who just got married, or was about to get married, is like, ‘Oh my God, you got to do it … What could go wrong?’ Then you talk to someone who’s been married for five years, and they’re like, ‘Don’t rush into it … you have your whole life ahead of you. Don’t have kids. They’re the worst.’ ”

Rockers the Wallflowers capped off the event.