Celebrity News

Meghan McCain was ‘petrified’ to publicly reveal miscarriage

Meghan McCain shared an emotional message Saturday on Instagram, stating she was “petrified” to reveal that she had suffered a miscarriage.

In the post, which was published one day after the “View” co-host opened up about her miscarriage in a New York Times opinion piece, McCain, 34, thanked fans and followers for their support.

“It’s a very mean and nasty place and I don’t care how tough you are it will beat you to your knees and keep you there permanently if you let it. You, me, or nobody is gonna hit as hard as life. But it ain’t about how hard ya hit. It’s about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward,” McCain began, quoting “Rocky Balboa,” later adding that she and husband Ben Domenech “are the luckiest, most incredibly blessed people in the world surrounded by love and support.”

The daughter of the late John McCain also hopes that her story will help others.

“My hope is by continuing to share grief and loss, and addressing these taboo subjects head on it will help people who have experienced the same to feel less alone. None of us are alone in this. I was petrified to share my story publicly but I never, ever let fear dictate my life choices. I will always take the leap, I will always roll the dice,” she wrote.

McCain initially described her miscarriage in an op-ed, which was published Friday.

“A few weeks ago, I was part of the photoshoot for The New York Times Magazine’s cover story about ABC’s ‘The View.’ It should have been a moment of triumph — a vindication of the show’s significance as a place at the center of political debate, a ratings boom, a must for the top tier of presidential candidates,” McCain penned. “I should have been proud. I knew my father would have been proud.”

“I look back at those pictures now, and I see a woman hiding her shock and sorrow. I am posed for the camera, looking stern and strong, representing my fellow conservative women across the country. But inside, I am dying. Inside, my baby is dying,” she shared.

McCain also expressed gratitude for husband Domenech, whom she married in 2017.

“And to this man who loves my wild heart, has never tried to change a single thing about me, and continues to be the greatest source of strength, love and faith a woman could ever ask for ~ I thank God for sending you to me every day, Ben.”