Celebrity News

Danai Gurira announces she’s leaving ‘The Walking Dead’

SAN DIEGO — Season 10 will be the last for Danai Gurira on “The Walking Dead.”

Angela Kang, Jeffrey Dean Morgan and Cailey Fleming applaud Danai Gurira.
Angela Kang, Jeffrey Dean Morgan and Cailey Fleming applaud Danai Gurira.Getty Images

“I can confirm this is the last season I will be on this amazing show,” she announced at San Diego Comic-Con on Friday.

The 41-year-old actress teared up as she told the room that playing the role of Michonne on the AMC show was one of the “purest joys of my life.”

“I am very, very thankful for the experience that I’ve had in ways that I cannot even express right now,” she said, adding that it was a very difficult decision to leave. “It was about my calling in a sense and other things I feel called to.”

She added, “I’m filled with a lot of pain about leaving and a lot of gratitude and thanks to all of you. I love you guys and I love this show.”

“‘TWD’ family is forever,” she said, tearing up as the audience gave her a standing ovation.

“We will miss the hell out of her,” showrunner Angela Kang said.