Celebrity News

Pregnant Shay Mitchell opens up about past miscarriage

Shay Mitchell revealed that she was so hesitant to announce her pregnancy because she previously suffered a miscarriage.

“I chose to hold on until I announced because of the first time,” she said in a YouTube video posted to her channel on Wednesday. “It didn’t go as I had hoped for and it was extremely difficult.”

Mitchell, 32, who announced she was expecting in June, shared in her video that it took her six months to announce the news because she miscarried at 14 weeks last year.

“When it happened I was just completely blindsided by it,” she said. “I still have those photos on my phone and I still have all the doctors visits and its weird because I haven’t looked at them obviously, it’s not like I forgot about it happening, of course, I’m like super happy but I still feel for that one that I lost.”

In her video, where the actress explained that her and her boyfriend, Matte Babel, were skipping out on public appearances before sharing she was pregnant again, she admitted that they are purposely unprepared for the baby’s arrival.

“We haven’t touched one thing in here because of the miscarriage,” she said of the unfinished baby’s room. “I just want to wait it out, I want to get to as late as possible and then I’ll do this.”

“You feel broken as a woman,” she added when talking about the time following her miscarriage.

As for the future, she’s excited to share a new life with Babel.

“He’s gonna be a great dad, he’s so good with kids,” she said.